Hayes Chosen 2020 CRHS ‘Teacher of the Year’

Faculty select Bruce Hayes to represent CRHS in district level secondary ‘Teacher of the Year’ competition


Photo by Anita Kuhlmann

Coach Bruce Hayes receives recognition as CRHS Teacher of the Year in early February. Hayes was honored by 9th grade assistant principal Teri Faigle, Associate Principal Patti Smith, and Principal James Cross after voting selection by the faculty.

County Line Staff

English III teacher, PALs Sponsor, Student Council Sponsor and Assistant Girls Soccer Coach, Bruce Hayes was named Cinco Ranch High School “Teacher of the Year” Feb. 7.

Principals James Cross and Patti Smith, along with assistant principal Teri Faigle surprised Hayes with the announcement during Period 2.5. The award is voted on by school faculty each year, and Hayes will now advance to district wide secondary “Teacher of the Year” competition.

Hayes was first nominated along with other faculty finalists; Jenna Alleman, Mark Mazzu, Ashley Miller, Mayelin Morales, Veronica Ramos, Hollie Shoop, Rachel Sobylya and Kim Stavinoha, 

Hayes joins this list of past CRHS “Teachers of the Year”: Kay Stephenson, Paula Elmer-Lahann, Charlene Serrette, Lisa Startzman, Joanne Elston, Bruce Eaton, Bill Hollis, Tracy Wade, Randy Kangas, Stacy Strickland, Dorothy Wilson, George Garner, Kay Lynn Fenn, Erik Hammond, Sherri Wagner, Shauna Alexander, Mike Marrie, Nicole Peffley, Heidi Kirby and Amy McConnell.